When mind speaks a little too much…

Quiet people talk a LOT, in their heads; I’d tweeted some time back. If I could transfer all that I utter in my mind into words and onto the computer screen, I would have written a novel longer than Harry Potter #7 in less than a month.  So then, why don’t I blog enough, one might wonder. Here’s my hypothesis: I talk so much about what I’m going to write in my head that I get exhausted and tired by the time I look at the computer screen :P

Well, jokes apart, here’s something deep from Yasmin Mogahed, something I was finding hard to put my thoughts into, but she speaks the “heart language” best, doesn’t she…

“The fact that our heart cannot let go of things–despite the countless arguments our mind makes, despite the utter foolishness of the attachment, despite the impossible nature of the heart’s wish–is a humbling reminder that we are not in control of our own hearts; Allah is.”

And I read this in one of the comment’s section and couldn’t have put it better myself:

“I said: who knew…
Who knew that the pain of hardship would become the sweetness of emaan… 

That the tears of repentance would become the coolness of the eyes…
That the hard ground would become the most comfortable place to place your forehead…
That the sorrow of loss would become the joy of gain…
That the wounds of separation would become the adornments of re-union.

Who knew…
who knew that the frowns of disappointments would become the smiles of contentment…
That the denial of desires would become the fulfillment of them all…
Who knew, that the pain of hardship would become the sweetness of emaan…”

reading

I have this addiction. Before you raise your eyebrows, let me clarify. I have this “Reading Addiction” as I like to call it. Read. And Read. I can sit all day long and read articles after articles after articles and yet not get tired. I feel like a traveler trying to quench her thirst in the desert of information that this world and people have to offer. But, I was just beginning to wonder whether I’m becoming more on an “information junkie” rather than an “information user”.


(Anyhooo, I think I *do* use the info I read in my own way).
.so on my reading list are more than 10 books of varying subjects and sizes by diverse authors. Can we just add 4th semester BAIS with 6 subjects (ranging from complicated Aqeedah to mesmerising Arabic to some Research Methodology and Psychological Islamic counselling to a few more) to the list above. And a HUGEEE list of audios to listen to. 

AND can we add crocheting and canvas painting and article writing for Habibi Halaqas and Productive Muslim to the list of things that need to be done and are being done.  And attend some awesome webinars on the way, shall we?

Stay busy, do something beneficial, something that involves your brain, eyes and heart; read, write or paint = tried and tested ways to keep Satan at bay. 

About Nasmira

Asalamualaikum !! =) A proud Hijabi, Writer, Nutritionist, Artist.. Click the link below and take a sneak peek into my world! =)
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Musings, Random!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When mind speaks a little too much…

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    “The fact that our heart cannot let go of things–despite the countless arguments our mind makes, despite the utter foolishness of the attachment, despite the impossible nature of the heart’s wish–is a humbling reminder that we are not in control of our own hearts; Allah is.”

    Right now I am going through this so I am glad you posted it today. It is a reminder to me.

  2. Maryam says:

    Salam. aww nice one Nasmira! This post looks like a small demo of how many thing were going on in your mind at that time..haha…you’re like jumping from writing a book, to something about the heart, then the middle para about “who knew” (which is soo awesome, MashaAllah<3 ), then to BAIS and then to crocheting..lol. I had a nice 5 mins reading and commenting. ;)

    • Nasmira says:

      Wa alaikum salam wr wb Maryam :)
      hehe…shows how messed up the post is, isn’t it..
      actually, I was planning to make each para into a separate post but realised how I keep telling that to myself, but never really sit down to make a proper post, so thought I would just type whatever came to my mind,,
      and it looks so messy now.. *sigh*
      Glad you had a good laugh :D

  3. Subashini says:

    I must say I quite like your hypothesis :p Those are beautiful words! It explained about what you whatsapp’d a few days ago. And hi5! I can read all day long too. But I believe whatever we read is put into use if not now may be some other time. Never a junk.

    • Nasmira says:

      Explained exactly what I was trying so hard to put into words :)
      yeah..I do hope I benefit but there are times when I read so much and then wonder how much Im retaining in the end, but then again, something’s better than not reading anything at all and wasting your time in useless stuff..so yeah..I kinda convince myself with that :)

I would love to hear from you..

