A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

Where have I been.. WHY haven’t I written anything, and where HAVE I been..really…

Dear blog.. I’v neglected you, great deal.  While I’d love to paint a busy picture of myself and tell you I was “oh so busy, I couldn’t even breathe.. I had no time for updates or personal reflections…”

But as fanciful as they sound, nope….You know, I’d just be faking..

Meanwhile, during my unexplained periods of disappearances, a few things have taken place which were truly OMG moments. I was delighted and quite proud to welcome my niece, the family’s first little baby, my parents first little grandchild, making me a first time aunt..quite a few firsts there, yeah? The delight, oh the delight to cuddle and pinch the little one, quite irreplaceable I confess..how is it that you stare at a baby and never get bored..even when the baby’s doing nothing extraordinary apart from sleeping? And and and, I got to do the best shopping I’ve ever done..choosing baby clothes..oh the cuteness!

Dear blog, just to let you know, I’ve been on a painting spree too..because

1) I wanted to paint, and see the colours mix beautifully with each other,

2) Because I learnt the art of giving multi-tonal shades, giving depth to a background, and

3) Read point number 1 again.

On a completely unrelated note, I learnt that Brain Derived Neurotrophic Factor or BDNF is responsible for keeping your neurons active, producing new neurons, passing better signals, keeping your brain alert and preventing all sorts of depressions, the Alzheimer’s, the Parkinson’s and yada yada yada…..so in order to prevent myself from falling into any of these, and hoping that I preserve my memory a little bit longer, I found out that one needs to constantly learn something new to increase BDNF (other means of improving this component did not have the oomph appeal to me..
*you*, on the other hand,  can Google to find out more, btw! :P)

And so , I decided to enroll myself in Logical Progression, to

i) Increase BDNF,

ii) To listen to Sheikh Abu Eesa Niamatullah and see how he rocks the class with his style and humour, which is unbeatable,

iii) To make my path to paradise easier,

iv) Because I’m in need of more sawaab, *there, I said it*

So, dear readers, please check out the link and register, okay? Cool!

It’s been ages since I wrote anything for Productive Muslim. My mind has been buzzing with ideas as usual, but were never transferred  from my mind to my fingers to the keyboard to your computer screen.  So, when I got an email which started with “It’s been a long time since we heard from you… ” my heart skipped a beat but my mind said, “Long time indeed..hi5”. But of course, professionalism was maintained and a decent reply given. So, from now on, consistent and timely submissions to the website I loovvveee will be undertaken, inshaAllah.. *pinky promise*

Have assignments to complete for Arabic, Fiqh, Aqeedah, Hadeeth and Dawah&Duat.. (yup..all 5 courses in 3rd semester)..but, while opening a Word Doc, your mind reminds you that checking your spam folder is necessary; rearranging your bookmarks bar becomes mandatory; adding labels to your emails and sorting them into different categories *and* adding colours to each label becomes even more important, so the assignments are left for the beautiful morning that greets me the next day.. .  sounds familiar to anyone? (What a pity, you might be thinking; but don’t pity me, I’ve had worse…)

On that note, I bid goodbye and promise to put up a more meaningful post soon enough, inshaAllah…

Stay blessed, all of you!! :))

About Nasmira

Asalamualaikum !! =) A proud Hijabi, Writer, Nutritionist, Artist.. Click the link below and take a sneak peek into my world! =)
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Musings, Random!. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

  1. Atie says:

    *chuckle* I like this post. Reminds me of myself.

    stay well sis! I hope all is fine with you…ameen.

  2. Atie says:

    Oh! by the way, congratulations on the new addition of the family member! Babies are adorable!

    *how on earth did I forget this part!?*

  3. Assalamu ‘alaykum,
    Hahaha!! The last paragraph had me laughing my head off!! I can totally relate to it, LOL!
    And many congratulations on the birth of your l’il neice!! Alhamdullilah. :D

    • Nasmira says:

      Wa alaikum salam wr wb dear sis!! <3 :))

      Thank you so much! Alhamdulillah indeed!

      and last para..well…well..need I say more..*ahem ahem* ;)
      but hey..I at least seem to be going with the *intention* of doing the assginments every night before dozing off..now that's an improvement.. :P

  4. ummkhaleel says:

    Salam alaik Sis! :)) Seems like everyone is busy at the moment eh? Good to hear that at least you are doing something productive eh, productive muslim writer? haha.. I wanna see your paintings! Post them here please :) And congrats on the new addition to your family ;) I’m getting a nephew next year insha’Allah *excited*

    • Nasmira says:

      Wa alaikum salam wr wb dea sis :))
      Not sure why but you’re comment went into my spam folder :O

      yeah..I’ll be putting the pics up here and on FB inshaAllah..just searching for inspiration.. :P
      mashaAllah..its “babies season” seems like..everywhere I turn, I get news about babies to be born or already born…
      may Allah swt make your nephew the coolness of his parents eyes and an asset to the Ummah! :))

  5. Congrats! Mashaa’Allah! it is a delight to be an aunt right?
    I totally understand all the busy as a bee days and not being able to write! :D

  6. Subashini says:

    So true! babies are the never boring souls :) and lol “pinky promise” it’s been ages since I have heard it. BDNF is very interesting. I must start learning something new to protect my brain against all those ridiculously frightening disorders/ diseases. All the best with assignments :) By the way, i love adding colours to the labels too. :D

    • Nasmira says:

      so, I’m not the only one who adds colours..lol :D
      It’s amazing how different and similar the two of us can be at the same time, (If that made sense :D )

      • Subashini says:

        lol..different and similar..I think it must be a terrific combination :) and how do I make my blog snow? :/.

      • Nasmira says:

        oh snow!!
        i didn’t even realise it was snowing..it started automatically..lol
        you go to Settings on the left hand side (right below “Tools”)..click on “General” (the first option)
        scroll all the way down…and you have an option called “Show falling snow on my blog until January 4th.”..mark that box..and tadaa!! :D

  7. “sounds familiar to anyone?” :D Yess Meeee!! I screamed (softly to myself ofcourse :P) when I read it!
    Ya Allah .. I forgot what I was going to say next! I think I really need to give the BDNF(?) theory a shot! I surely need help with my memory! :/
    Yess Ms.ProM get writing noww!! Waiting to read some new posts of yours there, inshaAllah! :D
    And hey stop pinching the poor little baby will you! hmph! :|
    P.S. This post somewhat inspired me to write new posts for my blog.. personal updates of’course.. I have soo much piled up .. soon inshaAllah! :D

    • Nasmira says:

      BDNF’s driving many ppl mad, seems like :P
      I can’t pinch the little one anymore, *sigh*
      and and and alhamdulillah..please do fill your blog with personal reflections..I’ve been dying to read some of those for a looooong time now :D

I would love to hear from you..

