The Stab!

“…The mirage of water cannot quench.
But is so beautiful to the thirsty.
I’m afraid. Of never knowing another life.
Different. So different.

If I let go, will You take me higher?
Above grief, want, loss.
Above all that I’ve ever known.
Take me higher. Unbind me from the earth.

Like a vaccine, it sickens, to make you stronger.
The stab is temporary. The freedom, eternal.”

                                                                          ~ Yasmin Mogahed

I thought one breaks after a certain point.  Instead, its becoming numb…now that’s scary, isn’t it? A twig cannot bend forever, can it? It is bound to snap into two at some point. But beyond all of that, what if it doesn’t break? What if it gets numb, without breaking? Now, that should be of some concern, shouldn’t it?

About Nasmira

Asalamualaikum !! =) A proud Hijabi, Writer, Nutritionist, Artist.. Click the link below and take a sneak peek into my world! =)
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Thought a Day in My Life!, Islamic, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Stab!

  1. Subashini says:

    The fact that one doesn’t break shows how strong they are, doesn’t it? May be sometimes you have to feel weak in order to know what it feels like to be strong. Like wise you have to feel numb in order to understand what you really feel. I hope this is something like that!

    • Nasmira says:

      Perhaps..maybe..I hope its not dead completely…
      on a side note: why did u sound like Dumbledore? Or maybe it was an overdose of Harry Potter I’m giving myself for the past two days..? but really..strange… :)

      • Subashini says:

        Lol! Do I? May be it reminds you of something he says. I don’t know. I can’t really figure the relation. Or perhaps the fact that I have been listening to the HP audio books for weeks now does have its effects. :D

      • Nasmira says:

        Well of course, Dumbledore would have said “anyone who has love will win” and I, obviously like Harry, would not understand..until the end, maybe!

I would love to hear from you..

