A friend since kindergarten!!

Many of us have different categories of friends, like you know, I for one have friends who fall under three categories mainly…

Category I: Friends with whom I can just be “me” and not feel foolish or ashamed to ever talk about the silliest of matters. Yes, I will get the weird stares but, these friends will make me feel welcome any time, it doesn’t matter how long we had not conversed with each other or doesn’t matter how many years went by when we never met…these  bunch of friends will be there no matter what..

Category II: Friends yes, but somehow the distance begins to show, it is not like how it always was..it begins to get different but you still stick with each other because you were close once upon a time, a majority of my friends would fall here.

Category III: These are called “Hi-Bye friends”. The conversations starts and stops with, “Hi, how are you, I’m fine” FULL STOP. It would be silence from my end …for those who know me know very well can tell you that I’m terrible at starting a conversation or continuing one unless I’m absolutely comfortable with the person around.

Anyhow!!! As  surprising as it sounds (even to me), kindergarten is not a stage where you build life long bonds, do you?!!!! Unbelievable as it may seem, we (me and she..lol) have stuck with each other since kindergarten, that’s like two decades now!!!

The best part of this friendship: We don’t spend time talking to each other every day, no, not even every week, not even every month BUT we are there for each other. A conversation could occur after months together but we would talk in the exact same fashion, discuss the exact same stuff we used to talk in school, giggle the same way and share just about anything under the sun without thinking twice.. Kindergarten was when we met, were put in the same grade together, fought and fought a lot..childish stuff…made plenty of new friends together, but stayed together no matter what..she would be there for everything, she still is even though we haven’t met each other for a good eight years now!!!! This is where I like technology: what are Facebook and cell phones for!! What a blessing from Allah swt!!

Priceless stuff she had given!!!

Everything about this friendship sounds surreal and surprising when we live in an age where we tend to make more friends on Facebook than in real life.. when friendship is all about gifting each other fancy stuff and making sure you do not forget to wish a happy birthday, (u forget and that’s a crime against humanity)!  When bonds are broken so quickly and take years to mend, this girl has been there through it all,  from childhood innocence and adolescent fighting to discussing absolute mundane things to being an emotional support when needed, now what do I say to such a friend?!?! Thanks would be a cliched term, I’m still trying to figure out what to say!! How about “lucky to have you” but na..I don’t believe in “luck-yuck” and all!!

Still thinking!!!

Anyhow, we finally met a couple of days back (FINALLY) and I still haven’t stopped smiling ever since..the same giggles, the same innocence in discussing stuff…the same bond with the same amount of enthusiasm…mashaAllah is all I can say!!

About Nasmira

Asalamualaikum !! =) A proud Hijabi, Writer, Nutritionist, Artist.. Click the link below and take a sneak peek into my world! =)
Gallery | This entry was posted in A Thought a Day in My Life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A friend since kindergarten!!

  1. Subu says:

    Like they say, sometimes in life there really are bonds formed that can never be broken. This seems to on those lines. :) You may not believe in luck, but i can safely say lucky u both!

I would love to hear from you..

